Good Astrology books

I have been pondering on writing this post for some time. There are countless astrology books out there and ultimately, they all have merit depending on your level of astrology knowledge or simply taste. To be honest, I did my best not to include my favorite “weird” books and to keep it mostly practical for those who want to get into astrology.

When you order a book through one of the links I get small commission from Amazon. Thank you for the coffee and enjoy the book!

The first book I want to recommend is not an astrology book in the traditional sense but is equally helpful. I find learning as much as possible about human psychology is often just as important. Astrology and psychoanalysis are, after all, corresponding fields of study. We owe the language of psychological astrology to Carl Jung (1875-1961). A good start and a favorite read of mine is The Archetypes and The Collective Unconscious. Familiar terms such as ‘archetype’ or ‘collective unconscious’ are presented in this wonderful and groundbreaking book. This one is for anyone interested in understanding human nature and the symbols surrounding us. A good foundation for natal chart readings.

Get it here

The second book I wholeheartedly recommend is more practical: The Rulership Book by Rex E. Bolls and Chris Brandt Riske. This one is like the anatomy class for anyone aspiring to know astrology. It is that essential. I know several master astrologers who swear by it to this day…After decades of experience. If you want to master what planet rules what and what house- this one is for you. It reads like a dictionary and works great for both beginner and advanced astrologers.

Get it here

The third book is more esoteric in nature and an enjoyable read. I admit I get giddy when I read anything by Stephen Arroyo. I just feel like he has a big heart and truly a spiritual perspective on things. Maybe it’s because of his natal stellium in Scorpio? Whatever the case, if you like to learn about astrology and spirituality, the book Astrology/Karma & Transformation could be for you. I think this is actually one of the first books on astrology I read. Arroyo’s approach is positive and not all doom and gloom. That said, unless you are familiar with evolutionary astrology (astrology as a transformative journey of your soul), this book might not be your style. I had to include it because it makes me smile.

Get it here

The fourth book is perfect for beginners! Sue Tomkin’s Aspects in Astrology: A Guide to Understanding Planetary Relationships in the HoroscopeThe title says it all. This book is good if you want to start reading charts and feeling at ease doing so finally. It reads like a book you would get if you went to astrology school. It is very accessible and straightforward.

Get it here

The fifth book on the list for those of you interested in Saturn from a Jungian perspective. Liz Green’s Saturn: A New Look at an Old Devil. Approaching the age of 29? It might be worth reminding yourself of the meaningful aspects of this often challenging time. Green writes beautifully, that is, if you like esoteric old-school language (I do). Oh, and it also has a section on Saturn in synastry. I think this book will resonate with those of you who have hard Saturn aspects Nataly. I remember giving it to a friend who had a very “happy” Saturn and she didn’t resonate as much. A good one if you are a student of mythology, psychology, and culture in general.

Get it here

The sixth book is by the genuinely amazing astrology Noel Tyl (1936-2019). I was beyond saddened when he passed away recently. I truly wish I was older and had the chance to learn from him. My feelings aside, I chose a book of his that is truly a fun read and still educational: Astrology of the Famed: Startling Insights into Their Lives. I think one of the best ways to learn astrology is by studying the charts of famous figures—a fascinating read.

Get it here

Not sure where to start?

A classic book is The only Astrology book you’ll ever Need by Joanna Martine Woolfolk. The title is ambitious, but this one is great for beginners and just a very harmonious book that covers a lot. If anything, it would make sure you would require many more books on astrology after you start delving into it.

Get it here

2 thoughts on “Good Astrology books”

  1. Oh wow I have all of these besides the arroyo one, and the astrology of the famed. I’ve been meaning to get an arroyo book so thx for the reminder !!
    I randomly found the others at a thrift store during a huge sale. I regretted not getting every astrology book they had, I only could really carry about half of them, but glad I picked the right ones lol

    1. That is so wonderful! Second hand books are the best. Lucky you!
      If you have any good astrology books to recommend let me know and I will add them.
      People who get luck with second-hand digging usually have a strong 2nd house/Taurus energy.

Leave a comment